## **Resolution** *Commending* **Police Chief Todd Elgin**

- WHEREAS, Garden Grove Police Chief Todd Elgin joined the City of Garden Grove on October 9, 1987 as a police recruit, and graduated as an honor cadet before becoming a police officer in 1988, working the streets for two years before serving several assignments, including DARE, SWAT, and as an undercover narcotics investigator; and
- WHEREAS, In 1998, Todd became a patrol sergeant, then transferred to the Gang Suppression Unit before becoming a lieutenant in 2002, supervising the East Division, SWAT team, and Special Services Division, until he was promoted to police captain in 2008; and
- WHEREAS, On January 1, 2015, Todd became Garden Grove's 12<sup>th</sup> Chief of Police, fulfilling a childhood dream and a treasured promise to his beloved grandfather; and
- WHEREAS, Known for his genuine ability to connect with the people in his department and in the community, as chief, Todd set out to expand the department, which he achieved through the K-9 Unit, the Special Resource Team (SRT) homeless task force, and by leading the effort to pass Measure O and increase the number of sworn police officers to 179—the highest ever seen; and
- WHEREAS, On April 20, 2019, Police Chief Todd Elgin will retire from the Garden Grove Police Department, following 32 years of illustrious service to the Garden Grove community and multiple generations of Garden Grove police personnel; and
- WHEREAS, On Tuesday, April 9, 2019, the City of Garden Grove honors Chief Elgin with a Community Spotlight, in recognition of his distinguished City career, his many accomplishments, and his unmatched contributions towards the future growth and success of the Garden Grove Police Department.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the City of Garden Grove does hereby commend Police Chief Todd Elgin, one of the most admired and esteemed chiefs of the people, whose profound love for the Garden Grove community and the Garden Grove Police Department will be his legacy among many other celebrated achievements.

April 9, 2019

Steven R. Jones, Mayor

Stephanie Klopfenstein Mayor Pro Tem–District 5 George S. Brietigam Council Member–District 1 John O'Neill Council Member–District 2

Thu-Ha Nguyen Council Member–District 3 Patrick Phat Bui Council Member–District 4 Kim B. Nguyen Council Member–District 6